Quick answer
Livspace, HomeLane and DesignCafe are national design-and-build brands with factory-made modular interiors, many studios and long paper warranties. HomeLane has owned DesignCafe since 2024, though both still run as separate brands. A local studio gives you fewer showrooms but often more direct access to the people designing and building your home. The right pick depends on scope, budget and how hands-on you want to be.
Search “livspace vs homelane” and you’ll mostly find forum threads, some glowing, some furious. That’s not much help when you’re about to sign for a few lakh rupees of kitchen and wardrobes.
We’re a Bangalore studio ourselves, so we’re not neutral, and we won’t pretend to be. What we can do is lay out what each company says about itself on its own website, explain what those promises actually mean, and tell you when one of the big three is the better fit. If you want the wider picture of interior designers in Bangalore, start there.
Livspace vs HomeLane vs DesignCafe: the short version
| Livspace | HomeLane | DesignCafe | Local studio with own factory (e.g. Q Oak) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who they are | National design-and-build platform | National design-and-build brand | National brand, owned by HomeLane since 2024 and run separately | Bangalore studio that designs, makes and installs |
| Warranty (as stated on their site) | “Lifetime” on modular products for orders from 1 April 2026, defined in its terms as up to 10 years for hardware and accessories and up to 30 years for cabinets, shutters, drawers, panels and carcass, for manufacturing defects | Flat 10 years on woodwork, covering manufacturing defects and installation workmanship | Up to 30 years on eligible modular products, as specified in your product documents | Q Oak: 15 years after-sales service and warranty |
| Delivery promise | 45-day delivery for select finishes on modular products, with a “Move-in Guarantee” | 45-day delivery guarantee for standard modular scope; 45 + 10 days when some added services are included | Standard timeline of 60 days from 60% payment and design sign-off; says turnarounds start at 45 days | Q Oak: 45–60 days from design sign-off for eligible modular work |
| Board materials | Says its core materials are tested in NABL-certified labs | Material depends on package; warranty terms list several core types | HDF in dry areas, BWP and HDHMR plywood in wet areas | Q Oak: BWP plywood throughout, no MDF or particle board |
| Scale | National | Says 84 studios in 54 cities | Says it grew from 15 to 23 stores in 18 months after joining HomeLane | Q Oak: JP Nagar studio, Whitefield studio, JP Nagar factory |
| Minimum budget | Says ₹2 lakh | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked | Ask us about your scope |
All competitor details are from each company’s own website as of October 2026. Terms change, so check the current version before you sign.
Read the warranty, not the headline
Warranty numbers are the easiest thing to compare and the hardest to read properly. A few things to look for, whoever you choose.
- What does it cover? Most interior warranties cover manufacturing defects. Damage from water leaks, misuse or unauthorised repairs is usually excluded. HomeLane’s terms, for example, also cover installation workmanship on woodwork.
- What does “lifetime” mean in writing? Livspace’s own terms define its lifetime warranty with year limits for different parts. That’s normal, and it’s why the fine print matters more than the word.
- Is every product included? DesignCafe says not all modular furniture automatically carries its 30-year warranty, and that covered products are marked as such. HomeLane says its HL Junior range has a 3-year warranty instead of 10.
- Who do you call in year 7? A long warranty is only useful if someone picks up the phone. Ask how after-sales requests are logged and how quickly a technician visits.
Q Oak’s warranty is 15 years of after-sales service and warranty. On paper that’s shorter than the lifetime and 30-year headlines. Ask us for the written terms with your quote, and compare like for like.
Read the delivery promise, too
“45 days” sounds the same everywhere. It isn’t always.
- When does the clock start? Usually at design sign-off, often tied to a payment stage. DesignCafe’s standard 60-day timeline, for example, starts from payment of 60% of the order and design sign-off.
- What’s in scope? HomeLane’s 45-day guarantee applies to standard modular scope, and adds 10 days when certain extra services are included. Livspace’s 45-day delivery applies to select finishes.
- What happens if it’s late? Some brands offer compensation under their terms. Ask what the remedy is, in writing.
At Q Oak, the 45–60 day delivery timeline starts at design sign-off for eligible modular work. The handover times on our published projects range from 35 to 44 days. Our payments run in four stages: 10% at sign-up, 10% when designs are complete (before material selection, 3D renders and masking, which is our site validation), 50% at production and 30% when materials are ready for delivery.
Who should pick which
We’d rather you end up with the right company than the wrong one, even if that’s not us.
Pick Livspace if you want a national brand with a big catalogue, a long written warranty and a scope above its stated ₹2 lakh minimum, and you’re comfortable working through its platform and process.
Pick HomeLane if a clearly defined standard modular package suits you, you like a flat 10-year woodwork warranty that includes installation workmanship, and you want a delivery guarantee with set terms.
Pick DesignCafe if you like its design style, want an up-to-30-year warranty on eligible products, and the 60-day standard timeline works for your move-in date.
Pick a local studio if you want to talk to the same small team from first sketch to handover, visit the factory that makes your units, and change things without going through several layers. Check that the studio actually has its own factory or a named manufacturing partner, and that its warranty is in writing.
Questions to ask any company before you sign
Bring this list to every meeting. Good companies answer these without hesitation.
- Which board goes into each unit? Ask for the grade (BWP, BWR, MR, HDHMR, HDF or MDF) unit by unit, especially the sink base.
- Which hardware brand, and which range? “Branded hardware” can mean a basic range or a premium one.
- Is the quote itemised? Every unit with size, finish, board and hardware. No lump sums.
- What’s not included? Civil work, electrical changes, appliances, countertops, false ceilings and painting are common exclusions.
- When does the delivery clock start, and what’s the remedy if it’s missed?
- Who installs? In-house team or subcontractor?
- Can I see a finished home or the factory?
- How do I raise an after-sales request, and how fast is a visit?
- Can I read reviews from real clients? For ours, here’s what our clients say about their handover.
Where Q Oak fits
We’re a Bangalore company. We design in our JP Nagar and Whitefield studios, make modular units in our own 20,000 sq ft factory in JP Nagar 7th Phase, and install with our own team. We use BWP plywood throughout our modular interiors and don’t use MDF or particle board. Eligible modular work is handed over within 45–60 days of design sign-off, and our interiors carry 15 years of after-sales service and warranty.
We don’t have 80-plus studios, and we only work in Bangalore. If that suits you, come and see the materials and the factory for yourself, then compare our quote line by line with anyone else’s.
If you’d like a second opinion on a quote you already have, bring it along. Book a free design session and we’ll go through it with you.
Last updated: 12 October 2026.
FAQs
Which is better, Livspace or HomeLane?
Neither is better for everyone. Livspace advertises a lifetime warranty on modular products, defined in its terms with year limits, and 45-day delivery on select finishes. HomeLane offers a flat 10-year woodwork warranty and a 45-day delivery guarantee for standard modular scope. Compare itemised quotes, materials and warranty terms for your own home.
Did HomeLane buy DesignCafe?
Yes. HomeLane acquired DesignCafe in September 2024, as reported by The Economic Times. Both continue to operate as separate consumer brands while sharing technology, supply chain and manufacturing.
Is a local interior designer cheaper than Livspace or HomeLane?
Not automatically. Price depends on board grade, finishes, hardware and scope far more than on company size. The only fair test is to compare itemised quotes for the same design and materials.
What warranty should I expect on modular interiors?
Most established companies offer 10 years or more on modular woodwork, usually covering manufacturing defects. Read what’s excluded, whether installation is covered, and how after-sales requests work. Q Oak’s interiors carry 15 years of after-sales service and warranty.
Do Livspace, HomeLane and DesignCafe all deliver in 45 days?
Each defines it differently. HomeLane’s 45-day guarantee covers standard modular scope. Livspace’s applies to select finishes. DesignCafe’s standard timeline is 60 days from 60% payment and sign-off, with turnarounds starting at 45 days. Check when the clock starts and what’s in scope.
Sources (checked 12 October 2026)
- Livspace warranty terms: https://www.livspace.com/in/interiors/service/service-livspace-quality-promise
- Livspace modular kitchens (45-day delivery, select finishes): https://www.livspace.com/in/interiors/offerings/know-your-kitchen
- Livspace modular interiors (₹2 lakh minimum, NABL labs): https://www.livspace.com/in/interiors/offerings/modular-interiors
- HomeLane homepage (84 studios, 54 cities, flat 10-year warranty): https://www.homelane.com/
- HomeLane terms (delivery guarantee scope, warranty scope, HL Junior): https://www.homelane.com/homelane-terms-conditions
- DesignCafe how it works and FAQs (60-day timeline, 30-year warranty terms): https://www.designcafe.com/how-it-works/ and https://www.designcafe.com/frequently-asked-questions/
- DesignCafe homepage (HDF dry areas, BWP and HDHMR wet areas): https://www.designcafe.com/
- HomeLane acquires DesignCafe (The Economic Times, Sep 2024): https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/tech/funding/homelane-buys-designcafe-raises-rs-225-crore-from-hero-enterprise-ranjan-pai/articleshow/113667943.cms
- DesignCafe store growth after integration (NewsVoir release, Jun 2026): https://news.gainfocuspr.com/designcafe-and-homelane-accelerate-growth-journey-co-founder-shezan-bhojani-transitions-to-new-entrepreneurial-venture